meanwhile, back at the ranch…

I’m coming up on the 10th anniversary of my Dad’s death… This post, from years ago. comes to mind…
I haven’t gotten over my dad not being here; and I expect I never will. Although I am even further from actual farm living (and only two miles from Main St. in Hendersonville), I’m still holding on to the farmhand archetype he gave me; and proud of it.

writemyline

Between two horses, two dogs, and a very suspicious cat, it feels like all I’ve accomplished this week has been cleaning up crap and mending fences. I do love my fantasy farmhand land archetype and welcome it whenever I get the chance but this past week it has been just a little too realistic. My fantasy is now tainted with the fear of phone calls and voices saying “Your dog is in my yard.” What I need is a ranch with miles and miles of fenced acreage so if I were to look out my window and not see my dogs I wouldn’t worry that they are in someone’s yard digging holes, doing their “business,” and getting me in trouble with the homeowners association.

When I was about eight or so, my daddy bought his first farm. It was about 40 acres just off Rocky River in Union County and he started…

View original post 744 more words

About writemyline

Ride like a knight. Write like a warrior.
This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

