my buddy has crossed over…

debluther

Luther Jay Hawk 

April 1994    –    December 2008

“I think God will have prepared everything for our perfect happiness. If it takes my dog being there [in Heaven], I believe he’ll be there.”  (Rev. Billy Graham)

Thanks be to God for my buddy Luther Jay Hawk—faithful, affectionate, and unconditionally loving companion for fourteen years.

About writemyline

Ride like a knight. Write like a warrior.
This entry was posted in closer to home, heros, prayers, soul. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my buddy has crossed over…

  1. Psalm 36:6 (NRSV)
    Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains, your judgments are like the great deep; you save humans and animals alike, O Lord.

  2. Lady Sharon says:

    To My Friend,

    There are no words to describe the bond between an animal friend and our hearts. My heartfelt sadness for your heart. I pray Luther Jay Hawk is playing ball with the angels. He will be missed greatly.

    Take care,

    Sharon

    “An angel came to me one day,
    A ball of fur in hand.
    The angel gave the ball to me,
    As we stood there in the sand.
    She said to me, “It’s just a loan,
    For only a short time.”
    And she would surely return one day,
    For the ball of fur wasn’t mine.
    I looked down at the ball of fur,
    Two eyes stared back at me.
    I fell in love upon that day,
    As I held it close to me.
    Years went by and my love grew,
    As close friends we became.
    I looked down at my ball of fur,
    Life was never again the same.
    No matter where I found myself,
    My friend would be there, too.
    Then one day the angel came,
    I didn’t know what to do.
    She said that now the time had come,
    To take my friend back home.
    I watched her leave with tear filled eyes,
    As I remembered “It’s just a loan.”
    —Hoyt Northcutt

Leave a Reply

