blog-clog

blog-clog. 

Establishing my second career as a writer/web-author was something I believed would be a good thing. And for the most part, it has been a good thing. I’ve met a lot of great people, I’ve been able to work in my pajamas at home, and I’ve even made a little money.

At first, just the act of writing was my motivation. I blogged a lot of creative pieces, wrote some poetry, posted a few reviews, and prompted what has turned out to be a year-long discussion on St. Andrews Presbyterian College and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Altogether, I can’t be unhappy about the 16,000+ readers of my buzz. I do appreciate my readers a lot.

I once posted on Jim Buie’s blog (The Buie Knife) that blogging was like a daily writing exercise and that it “helps to keep me in touch with my writing skills, personal interests, and current events.”  (Jim also posted a nice article Reflections on Year’s End, Winter Mortality, Reason for Writing, Blogging ). My comment was made about 6 months after I actively began blogging and at a time when my writing was mostly for pleasure. When I made that comment, I had no idea that blog-writing and blog-reading would become a major part of every work day and that the exercise part would evolve into a daily marathon workout.

In between all the fun stuff and creativity, I realized the quest for purpose. And it looks like that purpose has shown its face as healthcare, healthcare reform, and activism. I am reminded of the prodigal son (except I pretend it’s “prodigal daughter”) who, after the party ends, must return home to the business of responsibility. My own version of the story is less severe but equally symbolic. I’ve had my fun; now, I’ve got to get back on task. 

Presently, I am the official self-appointed content editor and writer of “The State of NC Healthcare.” It is not a charming blog about cutsie things, and it is not a platform entirely devoted to opinion. The most compelling aspect from my own writer’s viewpoint is the art of letters, words, grammar, and presentation with a purposeful direction of healthcare reform activism. The opportunity for nurturing creativity is less present–a trade-off, perhaps, that I sincerely hope will serve a purpose in NC’s healthcare culture.

As much as I’d like to feast on pleasure-blogging everyday, I’m trying to develop the role of an activist writer who is ready to respond and represent accurately and effectively, and who meets the challenges of restraint and self-control in her thinking and writing skills. This is a far piece from where I was when I commented on Jim’s blog.

So…anyway…I haven’t been posting so much on writemyline lately because I’ve committed efforts toward purpose instead of pleasure-writing and creativity.

There’s also the absence of my muse. I believe she’s trapped in the blog-clog and a string of bookmarks, logins, and url’s. I keep promising myself daily that after I’ve done my “work” I will treat myself to at least an hour of creativity massage–fun blogging; however, that doesn’t happen very often. My muse must feel mighty neglected. I really do miss her, and I hope she recognizes me when I finally have time and energy again for her demanding spirit. In the meantime, at least my keyboarding skills are getting a little sharper for the anticipated reunion.

For now, I will continue to post whenever I can on writemyline–especially “on the night table” -tagged posts, SAPC/SACS, and local interest pieces. But for the most part, I’ll be doing my new activist thing–at least for a while or until I finish what I’ve started. It might look as if I’ve dropped out of sight, but I’ll still be here–somewhere in the blog-clog.

About writemyline

Ride like a knight. Write like a warrior.
This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

