free fallin’ follow-up

logo_militarytimes.gif

 It was a pretty cool thing to recognize my middle-aged profile on Andrew deGrandpré‘s article and Sheila Vemmer‘s video entitled  Free Fallin’ on the Military Times website. I enjoyed meeting the two journalists from DC at Paraclete XP in Raeford NC while taking my first plunge in a vertical wind tunnel. 

bluelogo.gifAs it turned out, it was also the first flight for Andrew and Shelia, too. I’m pretty sure my two fellow flyers had as much fun as I did although they were there for business and I was there for nothing except a rush. We laughed a lot, gave each other applause and high fives, and had interesting conversation about the four “w’s” of journalism–who, what, where, and when. Although I was twice their age, Andrew and Shelia didn’t treat me like an old lady just out looking for kicks. They were extremely courteous and professional; and after reading Andrew’s Free Fallin’ article and viewing Shelia’s video I realized just how talented they really are.

Maybe I will see them again someday at Paraclete XP. Or maybe they would be interested in returning to NC to join me in taking a real “jump-out-of-an-airplane-at-13,000ft” dive.  That would be one heck of a story.

Free Fallin’ Video

Free Fallin’ Article

http://www.militarytimes.com/offduty/sports/military_022508_indoorskydiving/ 
http://www.militarytimes.com/indoorskydiving
About writemyline

Ride like a knight. Write like a warrior.
This entry was posted in bodyflight, sports. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to free fallin’ follow-up

  1. Jim Buie says:

    This is so cool. I watched the video and am envious — would like to do this and take my 10-year-old Alex, and also my 24-year-old Matthew when he visits in April.

  2. writemyline says:

    Hey Jim, just let me know when you want to go and I’d love to accompany you and your boys. Honestly, the whole experience is amazing. Your boys would absolutely love it.
    Deb

  3. Lady Sharon says:

    I did not know that Knights did fly! Wow you are amazing and adventurous.

    King Arthur has proclaimed a new order of Knights called “Knights of Blue Flyht” and you shall reign as their Champion for you have great courage.

    So if you see some Squires and Knights riding up to Paraclete XP SkyVenture one day emblazoned with their coat of arms, do not be alarmed. Camelot will never be the same.

    Fly on Lady Deb!

    In admiration,

    Lady Sharon

Leave a Reply

