wine me up

Recently, I’ve been doing a little work for a wine and spirits retailer. As a result, I’ve tried to learn enough about wine and wine tasting to at least be familiar with the art, but it hasn’t gone that well for me (the wine tasting part), perhaps, in part to bad habits and previous misinformation like: 
1) After the first glass, it all tastes the same.
2) If in doubt, have another taste.
3) I can tell the difference between merlot and chardonnay. One is red and the other is white.
4) Names of French wines are much easier to pronounce after tasting. For example, George Duboeuf Beaujolais and Entre Deux mers.
5) Names of Italian wines said aloud must be gesticulated with emphatic, air-borne, pinched fingers. If the wine is particularly good, the fingers are kissed by the taster.

Seriously, I’m really trying to reform these things as I experience the art of wine tasting. For sure, I enjoy the practice.

This week my recommendation is David and Michael Phillips’ Seven Deadly Zins Zinfandel 2004. It’s a good (really good) California zinfandel with hints of smoky raspberry and oak. Wine Connoisseurs’ Guide to California Wine rates it 85.

About writemyline

Ride like a knight. Write like a warrior.
This entry was posted in wine me up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

