on the turntable

jt.jpgJames Taylor, One Man Band , 2007

James Taylor doesn’t know it, but we’ve had a thing going for 35 + years. The very first LP I ever purchased was Sweet Baby James and ever since I haven’t been able to get enough of him. He is definately one “thin place” portal I can count on when my spirit needs stroking and a snuggle.

JT doesn’t have any new material on One Man Band unless you want to count the extraordinary pianist Larry Goldings. Although I always had a particular affection for Don Grolnick (until he unfortunately died in ’96 at the young age of 48), the more I listen to Goldings the more I think he and JT are a match made in heaven. I hope he sticks around. If he does, I believe we’ll have a lot to look forward too.

Something about James Taylor has left an imprint on me through the years that assures me everything’s going to work out and be ok. It reminds me that even in the hardest of times there is still a song to be sung with a friend. I have often thought that if stranded on a deserted island in the middle of the South Pacific, I could survive with a journal and a pen, a CD player and a very long extension cord, and of course, my JT collection.

One Man Band is like an friend come to visit–a friend that’s been away for a little while but with whom you just pick up where you last left off. It has all the old favorites: Sweet Baby James, Country Road, Fire and Rain, Carolina in My Mind, You’ve Got A Friend, and others that you already know the words and chord changes to. There’s a great concert DVD that accompanies the recording so you can see JT and Larry Goldings as well as hear them. The “drum machine” is an impressive addition to the equipment too.

This recording inspires me to be quiet and listen to the sweetness of the new Taylor-Goldings ensemble. It’s the third or fourth time through that I want to be part of it myself. Long after the CD is over, I can still hear the music in my mind’s ear–just like I always have, so I guess maybe something has transferred over the years that has made me a part of it.

Finally friends, you will want to get your own copy of One Man Band because I’m not likely to let anyone (no matter how much I love you) borrow mine for a very long time.

About writemyline

Ride like a knight. Write like a warrior.
This entry was posted in music, opinion, reviews, thin places. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to on the turntable

  1. Lin says:

    Somehow, this makes me think of President Bush and Vice President Cheney.

  2. writemyline says:

    I think Lin’s comment actually goes with the “stupid things” post above….?
    wml

  3. Lin says:

    It does. How did I end up with James Taylor? I wasn’t even drinking!

Leave a Reply

