the girl in syria, i

Hedjaz, also known as Hijaz or Hejaz Railway
HeyMommer,

Well, we’re finally in Arabia! We passed thru the Syrian border today (with only a small delay–they took us Americans into a small room where they asked us what we were doing, why we were here, etc–basically just a powertrip for them, and were happy to play along b/c it allowed us to practice our Arabic).  Aleppo is a city of all cities–as in, the people here really LIVE here and use its spaces.  It’s a no-frills kind of place, people just going about their business.  But everyone is SO nice and welcoming, and they all want to talk to us and get to know us. Theyre thrilled that we know Arabic, and as the most seasoned of our trio, a lot of the speaking has fallen to me, which is great practice.

I hope you’re having fun at the beach with Mimi and Marshall–or at least getting a tan to die for:)  I wish I could be with you, or you could be with me.  One of these days, we’re going to take a trip together–where we can forget about school/work/boys/money/all other silly stuff. 

I’m so happy you’re reading Rumi.  After visiting Konya and seeing a whirling dervish  in Kapadokya, I feel a closer rapport with him. Send me your favorite poem or line from him when you get a chance.  I’ve been reading Khalil Gibran’s The Prophet (in Arabic). It still moves me, no matter how many times I read it.

Feeling homesick for you, and I’ve just now come to realize that it’s been over a week since I’ve  hugged anyone.  Here’s one for you–>***********

I love you, Mommer. I’ll write soon again.

Loxoxoxove,

LO

About writemyline

Ride like a knight. Write like a warrior.
This entry was posted in the girl. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the girl in syria, i

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Hello! I have enjoyed reading the letters from Meagan. I hope you are doing well. By the way – Maw and Papa are at the beach now. So if you are still there – give Dad a call. Give Marshall kisses from me. The boys would love to see him. Although, I think Jack would really want to see you. Talk later-

Leave a Reply

